无线的人群
网络|无线上网

Ekahau无线调查在中国的办公室

使用Ekahau现常见的错误

最近,我已经运行我的第一个实地调查作为一个正式认证的 Ekahau 调查工程师。 虽然我已经运行无线调查在过去,我现在认识到,把重点放在复盖率只是等式的一部分。

幸运的是,这是一个完美的例子"常识"无线上网的想法,实际上是错误的,或只是简单的错误。

看,这个特别的客户有一个持续的无线网络连接问题。 缺乏性的、临时中断,工作。 他们使用,而旧的思科AP1602这不构成对5GHz,对于一些原因。 因此2.4千兆赫。

事情是这方面,像许多在上海,是完全淹没有无线电信号。 他们中的大多数发在同一2.4千兆赫频带。 给你一个想法,Ekahau现场调查显示, 97.8%的表面被复盖了7个电台或者更多。 作为拥挤,因为一个人民广场的地铁站在高峰时间!

无线通道重叠
这是一个拥挤的radiospace!


和大多数的这些无线电发射频道上1、6或11(2.4千兆赫无线提供最多13频道的设备,以进行通信。)

当事情变得拥挤

网络管理员没有正确地认识到这一问题。 他知道,有太多的收音机在同一频道上的原因 共同频干扰(CCI),并且可能会影响性能。 所以他做了什么逻辑表明:开关于小拥挤的渠道,即通道2和3。
聪明的主意,对吗? 没那么快...

你是什么意思"不要这么快"时,如何可以使用不那么拥挤的通道比共享一个一吨的人你甚至不知道吗?

不幸的是,还有一个原因为什么多数管理员设置自己的电台频道1、6或11 2.4千兆赫的无线网络。 这是因为通道的不重叠。 他们不是整齐分开,因为有人可能认为。 事实上,每个信道的是关于20MHz广泛,并且开始5MHz后所述的通道。
让我们看到,有一个画面:

无线通道重叠
无线频道的并不是整齐分离。 事实上,他们重叠。

看看现在? 1的通道实际上是重叠的,在道2、3、4和5。 所以接下来的非重叠(通道1)信道频道6其在重叠2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9 和10、11是非重叠6.

重叠

这就是为什么频道1、6和11所以通常用于:使用他们给你的最大数目的频道,不相互重叠。

但是,这不能解释为什么使用2、3或7个是坏的,对吗?
那是 邻频干扰(委员会) 。 如果CCI是更好地避免的,ACI更糟糕。

正如我们所看到的,我们只能指望3的非重叠道2.4千兆赫。 那不是很多,至少可以这样说。 因此重叠将发生在任何规模的环境。 但这是确定的,或多或少的,因为作为APs是在同一通道,它们可以同他们的排放量,一种方式。 他们会听听他们的频道,以及这些如果没有人这样做。 所以,只要每个人都在同一页上,可以这么说,事情是好的。 拥挤的,是的,但是罚款。

然而,如果一个AP是在频道1和频道上的2,他们的信号将混合干预,但他们不能同步的正确。 当AP1听如果有人发射频道1时,会考虑所有的是明确的,即使如果AP2发出在同一时间在路2。 你会得到两个混合的信号,很多噪音,和坏的交通。

所以基本上,你可以想象的方式:

  • CCI是一个拥挤的会议室有一个麦克风的:它可能需要时间让你获得麦克风讲话
  • 委员会是一个拥挤的房间里每个人都讲,在相同的时间。 当然,你可以说只要你想要的,但是良好的运气被理解!

预测的规划与Ekahau

所以我们的管理没有确定他的问题是否正确,但是,他的"常识"的解决方案实际上做的事...变得更糟。 现在我完全承认:我有没有过去太!
为了避免这种问题,执行一个预测的规划与 Ekahau现场调查 将确保你的渠道正常,尽量减少CCI和避免委员会完全。

类似帖子

Need help? Call +86 (21) 6135 2449
Ekahau WiFi Survey in a China office
Finding WiFi mistakes with Ekahau

Ekahau WiFi Survey in a China office

Using Ekahau to spot common mistakes

Recently, I’ve run one of my first site surveys as an officially certified Ekahau Survey Engineer. While I’ve run WiFi surveys in the past, I now realize that focusing on coverage is just part of the equation.

As luck would have it, this was a perfect example of “common sense” WiFi ideas that are actually misguided or just plain wrong.

See, this particular client had an on-going Wi-Fi connection issue. Lack of performance, temporary disconnections, the works. They are using rather old Cisco AP1602 which are not configured for 5GHz, for some reason. So 2.4GHz it is.

The thing is that this area, like many in Shanghai, is absolutely swamped with radio signals. Most of them emitting on the same 2.4GHz band. To give you an idea, Ekahau site Survey shows that 97.8% of the surface was covered by 7 radios or more. As crowded as a the People Square metro station at rush hour!

WiFi channel overlap
That’s a crowded radiospace !

And most of these radios are emitting on channels 1, 6 or 11 (2.4GHz WiFi offers up to 13 channels for devices to communicate.)

When things get crowded

The network admin did correctly recognize that issue. He knew that having too many radios on the same channel causes Co-Channel Interference (CCI), and might impact performance. So he did what logic would indicate: switch to less crowded channels, namely channels 2 and 3.
Smart idea, right? Not so fast…

What do you mean “not so fast”, how can using less crowded channels be worse than sharing one with a ton of people you don’t even know?

Unfortunately, there’s a reason why most admins set their radios to channel 1, 6 or 11 for 2.4GHz WiFi. That’s because channels do overlap. They are not as neatly separated as one might think. In fact, each channel is about 20MHz wide, and starts 5MHz after the preceding channel.
Let’s see that with a picture:

WiFi Channel Overlap
WiFi channels aren’t neatly separated. In fact, they overlap.

See now? Channel 1 actually overlaps on channels 2, 3, 4 and 5. So the next non-overlapping (with channel 1) channel is channel 6 which overlaps on 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10, then 11 is non-overlapping with 6.

Overlapping

Which is why channels 1, 6 and 11 are so commonly used : using them gives you the maximum number of channels that do not overlap with each other.

But that doesn’t explain why using 2, 3 or 7 is bad, right?
That’s where Adjacent Channel Interference (ACI) comes in. If CCI is better avoided, ACI is much worse.

As we saw, we can only count on 3 non-overlapping channels on 2.4GHz. That’s not much, to say the least. So overlapping will occur in any sizable environment. But that’s OK, more or less, because as the APs are on the same channel, they can synchronize their emissions, in a way. They’ll listen on their channel, and emit if no one else does. So as long as everybody is on the same page, so to speak, things are fine. Crowded, yes, but fine.

However, if one AP is on channel 1 and the next is on channel 2, their signals will mix and interfere, but they won’t be able to synchronize correctly. When AP1 listens if someone is emitting on channel 1, it’ll think all is clear even if AP2 emits at the same time on channel 2. And you’ll get two mixed signals, a lot of noise, and bad traffic.

So basically, you can imagine that way:

  • CCI is a crowded meeting room with one mic: it might take time for you to get the mic and speak
  • ACI is a crowded room where everyone speaks at the same time. Sure, you can speak whenever you want, but good luck being understood!

Predictive planning with Ekahau

So our admin did identify his issue correctly, but his “common sense” solution actually made things… worse. Now I’ll fully admit: I did that in the past too! 
To avoid this kind of issues, performing a predictive planning with Ekahau Site Survey will ensure that you set your channels properly, minimize CCI and avoid ACI entirely.

Alban Taraire

Founder and General Manager of NETK5, leading IT Helpdesk and Managed Services Provider. Since 2002, Alban and his team help foreign companies thrive in the complex IT environment of China. He's an Ekahau Certified Survey Engineer, ECSE #3719
Close Menu

CONTACT US

Get In Touch

I need help with
I need help with
My network, Wi-Fi or IT project
Providing IT Support to my users
Backing up my data
Accessing International Internet

CONTACT US

Get In Touch

I need help with
I need help with
My network, Wi-Fi or IT project
Providing IT Support to my users
Backing up my data
Accessing International Internet